Executive Order No. 2020-48 extends Executive Order 2020-29 through August 22, 2020.
On August 23, 2020, all temporary licenses that are more than 90 days old will be canceled, pursuant to Executive Order 2020-48.
On August 23, 2020, the Department will no longer allow webinars for pre-licensing.
If you have not completed the licensing process before August 23, 2020, you will be required to complete the in-person classroom portion of pre-licensing again.
The Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access many of the documents on this site.
Click on the icon to download it for free.
The handbook describes how, when and where to apply for the producer examination.
Effective November 5, 2015 the Illinois Department of Insurance will no longer mail paper renewal notices or licenses that have historically been mailed by the Illinois Department of Insurance's Licensing Division. License renewals will be emailed to the licensee's email address of record. Once a new or renewed license is issued, licensees will be able to print their license by going to www.statebasedsystems.com
As a producer, public adjuster, or navigator, you may request a hearing within 30 days of the mailing date of the Director’s Order to suspend, revoke, or deny your license to contest the Director’s Order. 215 ILCS 5/500-70(b) (producer); 215 ILCS 5/1555(b) (public adjuster);215 ILCS 121/30(b) (navigator).
You must send a written demand for a hearing (within the 30 days) and it must be directed to the Department's Springfield address as follows:
Illinois Department of Insurance
Attention: Producer Regulatory Unit
320 W Washington St, 4th Floor
Springfield, IL 62767-0001
Even if your hearing would take place at our Chicago office, you must send your hearing request to the Springfield address above.
Your hearing will be scheduled for a date between 20 and 30 days from the date the notice of the hearing is mailed to you. 215 ILCS 5/500-70(b) (producer); 215 ILCS 5/1555(b) (public adjuster); 215 ILCS 121/30(b) (navigator).
If you do not request a hearing within 30 days of the mailing date of the Order of denial, suspension, or revocation, then your license will automatically become denied, suspended, or revoked at the expiration of the 30 day period. 215 ILCS 5/500-70 (producer); 215 ILCS 5/1555(public adjuster); 215 ILCS 121/30 (navigator).
If you submit a timely request for hearing, the Order of denial, suspension, or revocation will be stayed pending the outcome of the hearing.
The Director may, in addition to denial, suspension, or revocation, assess a civil penalty of up to $10,000.00 for each cause of denial, suspension or revocation, with the total amount not to exceed $100,000.00. 215 ILCS 500-70(d) (producer); 215 ILCS 5/1555(a) (public adjuster); 215 ILCS 121/30 (navigator).
The Director may also assess the costs of this proceeding against the parties. These costs may include, but are not limited to: witness fees, court reporter fees, hearing officer fees, and the cost of the transcript. See 215 ILCS 5/408 and 50 Ill. Adm. Code 2402.270.
If your insurance producer license has been denied, suspended or revoked because you were convicted of a felony, the Director will evaluate your conduct before and after that felony under the standards described at 50 Ill. Adm. Code 2403.30 to determine rehabilitation.
If your navigator, in-person counselor, or your certified application counselor certification has been placed on probation, suspended, revoked or denied because you were convicted of a felony, the Director will evaluate your conduct before and after that felony under the standards described at 50 Ill. Adm. Code 3125.140 to decide whether to finalize the Order.