
 

Illinois Insurance Facts 
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation  
Division of Insurance 

Dependent Coverage – P.A. 095-0958 
FAQ For Industry  

Revised 
February 2011 

 
 
1) What is the effective date of changes mandated by Public Act 95-0958? 

The changes need to be reflected in individual and group health insurance policies and HMO 
contracts as they are delivered, issued, amended or renewed on and after June 1, 2009.  Policies in 
force prior to June 1, 2009, will have to reflect the changes on the first renewal date or date the 
policy is first amended after June 1, 2009. 

2) Does the law require group and individual policies to provide dependent coverage? 

No.  The law only applies if dependent coverage is included in the policy. 

3) Who must be covered under the law? 
Policies that include dependent coverage must allow unmarried dependents under the age of 26 to 
apply for coverage. In addition, policies must allow military veteran dependents under age 30 to 
apply for coverage if the military veterans: 1) are Illinois residents; 2) are not married; 3) have 
served in the active or reserve components of the U.S. Armed Forces (which includes the National 
Guard); and 4) have received a release or discharge other than a dishonorable discharge.  
 
To prove that they have served in the U.S. Armed Forces and received a release or discharge other 
than a dishonorable discharge, veterans must submit to insurers a DD2-14 (Member 4 or 6), 
otherwise known as a “Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty.” 
 
A policy shall not condition eligibility for dependent coverage on enrollment in any educational 
institution.  
 
4) Do covered dependents need to re-apply for coverage? 

No.  After June 1, 2009, dependents covered under a policy at the time of that policy’s delivery, 
issuance, amendment or renewal do not need to re-apply. After June 1, 2009, dependents not 
covered at the policy’s delivery, issuance, amendment or renewal may need to re-apply for 
coverage. 

5) When will dependents be allowed to enroll? 

a) Policies in force as of June 1, 2009 must provide for a 90-day open enrollment period for all 
dependents that meet the criteria established in (3) beginning on the date the policy is first amended 
or renewed.  During the initial 90-day enrollment period, requirements for creditable coverage, 
continuous coverage or breaks in coverage may not be applied. 

b) Policies issued on or after June 1, 2009 must provide for a 90-day open enrollment period for all 
dependents that meet the criteria established in (3).  During the initial 90-day enrollment period, 

 - 1 -



requirements for creditable coverage, continuous coverage or breaks in coverage may not be 
applied.  

c) The effective date of coverage for dependents added during the initial 90-day enrollment period 
shall be consistent with the enrollment terms of the plan or policy (e.g., the effective date of 
coverage is the first day of the month following enrollment). 

d) After the initial 90-day open enrollment period, insurers must provide eligible dependents not 
already covered under the policy annual enrollment during an open enrollment period.  For policies 
that do not currently provide for an open enrollment period, enrollment must be allowed for the 30-
day period prior to the policy’s annual renewal date or anniversary date if the policy does not have a 
renewal date.  During this annual enrollment period the insurer may decline coverage if the 
dependent does not meet the requirement of 90 days of continuous coverage without a break in 
coverage of more than 63 days.  

e) This law does not change enrollment terms or requirements for dependents added outside of the 
initial 90-day enrollment or subsequent annual enrollment periods, including HIPAA special 
enrollment requirements.  As such, an eligible dependent that meets the limiting age requirements 
of P.A. 095-0958 may be added to a group policy if a HIPAA special enrollment event occurs.  An 
eligible dependent who meets a company’s underwriting guidelines may be added to an individual 
policy at any time throughout the year. 

6) Can the insurer decline coverage for eligible dependents due to health conditions? 

During the initial 90-day enrollment, annual enrollment or special enrollment periods, no policy may 
decline coverage to an eligible dependent due to age (as defined in P.A. 095-0958), health status, 
or enrollment in an educational institution. The law does not otherwise restrict the definition of 
dependent.  However, the Division will take appropriate enforcement action if the Division 
finds that an insurer imposed any eligibility requirement as a proxy for age or student status 
(e.g., restricting coverage based on IRS dependency rules). 

During the annual enrollment period, the insurer may decline coverage if the dependent does not 
meet the requirement of 90 days of continuous coverage without a break in coverage of more than 
63 days.   

7) Can the insurer impose preexisting condition limitations for the coverage of eligible 
dependents? 

a) With respect to dependents added during the initial 90-day open enrollment period, rules 
governing preexisting condition limitations are not changed by P.A. 095-0958.  For group policies, 
any such exclusion period must be reduced by the amount of creditable coverage a dependent has 
at the time of enrollment, consistent with HIPAA (215 ILCS 97/20 (A)(3)). 

b) For dependents added during an annual enrollment period, preexisting condition limitations may 
be applied to the extent that creditable coverage has not been established.  Group and individual 
policies must apply periods of creditable coverage, as defined in HIPAA, to any preexisting condition 
exclusion periods.   

c) For dependents added to an individual policy at a time other than the initial 90-day enrollment or 
annual enrollment periods, preexisting condition limitations may be applied.  However, insurers must 
apply creditable coverage to any preexisting condition exclusion period at the time of the policy’s 
next annual enrollment period.  
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d) Individual policies may not contain elimination or exclusionary riders with respect to coverage for 
eligible dependents. 

8) Will companies be required to amend existing policies in order to comply with new 
enrollment and eligibility requirements? 

Yes. Companies must amend an existing policy if the policy does not currently contain a provision 
for an annual enrollment period or if the definition of “dependent” does not conform with these new 
requirements.  For example, an individual policy that is guaranteed renewable and contains no open 
enrollment provision and has no renewal date must be amended to establish an enrollment period 
for the 30-day period preceding the annual anniversary date.  In addition, if the policy’s definition of 
dependent varies from the requirements established by this new law, that definition will need to be 
amended. 

Any required amendments to in-force polices must be incorporated by way of a rider that must be 
filed with and approved by the Director. 

After the effective date of the new law, policies will either need to be refiled or amended to 
accommodate these new requirements or must be issued with a rider in order to be in compliance. 
9) Does the dependent coverage law apply to dental and vision plans? 
Effective January 1, 2011, Public Act 096-1034 (215 ILCS 5/356z.16) exempted short-term travel, 
disability income, long-term care, accident only, or limited or specified disease policies from the 
Young Adult Dependent Coverage law.  Dental and vision policies issued, amended delivered or 
renewed January 1, 2011 or after are not required to abide by the Young Adult Dependent 
Coverage law. 

For More Information 
Call our Consumer Services Section at (312) 814-2427 or 

our Office of Consumer Health Insurance toll free at (877) 527-9431  
or visit us on our website at www.ins.state.il.us 

 
Related Information 
 
HIPAA - Preexisting Conditions 
 
 

http://www.ins.state.il.us/default2.htm
http://insurance.illinois.gov/HealthInsurance/HIPAA_preexisting_cond.asp
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